Header Image for Deal Town Council

Council Information 

Deal Town Council is deeply saddened to announce the passing away of Councillor Wayne Elliott, who died on Sunday 29 April 2018.

The Worshipful Town Mayor of Deal, Councillor David Cronk has issued the following statement;
"It is with regret that we learn of the death of Councillor Elliott, who had a long career in the Town Council, most recently representing the ward of North Deal. A former mayor, he was a well-known figure who supported a wide range of community groups and organisations. Our sympathy and best wishes go to his family at this sad time.”

The Council

The Council consists of fifteen Councillors, some of whom are also Dover District Councillors, all elected every four years. The Mayor is a Councillor elected annually by the members of the Council. The town is divided into three wards, Mill Hill, North Deal and Middle Deal, with Councillors representing each ward, please click on this link 'councillors' for Councillor contact details.

Deal Town Council is responsible for the following:

  • The Visitor Information Centre
  • Management of over 80 Allotment Plots at 3 sites
  • The Saturday and Wednesday Market
  • Organising events e.g.: The Braderie, Heritage Weekend at the Town Hall
  • Issuing grants to local organisations
  • Responding to Planning and Development Control consultations
  • Consulting on planning applications for the Deal area
  • Producing the Annual Report, Website and the Deal Visitor Guide
  • Local campaigns e.g Dog Awareness Day
  • Guided tours of the Town Hall and artefacts
  • Town Hall hire - Wedding and events venue
  • The Mayor’s office and engagements
  • Full Council, Finance and General Purposes and the Planning committee meetings throughout year
  • All statutory duties of a Town Council