The Council consists of fifteen Councillors, some of whom are also Dover District Councillors, all elected every four years. The Mayor is a Councillor elected annually by the members of the Council. The town is divided into three wards, Mill Hill, North Deal and Middle Deal, with Councillors representing each ward.

Deal Town Council is responsible for the following:

  • All statutory duties of a Town Council
  • Full Council, Finance and General Purposes, Planning Committee, Environment Committee and Transport and Infrastructure Committee meetings throughout year
  • Issuing grants to local organisations
  • Responding to Planning and Development Control consultations
  • Consulting on planning applications for the Deal area
  • Producing the Annual Report, Website and the Deal Visitor Guide
  • The Mayor’s office and engagements
  • The Visitor Information Centre
  • Management of more than 80 Allotment Plots at 3 sites
  • Deal Saturday Market
  • Organising events e.g. The Braderie, Heritage Weekend at the Town Hall, Holocaust Memorial Day & International Women's Day
  • Local campaigns e.g. Green Week
  • Town Hall Hire & Events Venue
  • Weddings and Civil Partnerships